guardcas.blogg.se

Rename multiple files at once
Rename multiple files at once











rename multiple files at once

That brings me to the next phase of ‘ solution hunt’ – The search for a dedicated third party software/application. However, I won’t touch this segment in this article as it will be a little overkill for this simple task. That leaves us with the tedious command prompt or the new WindowsShell to execute some command based instructions. I am well aware that you can rename multiple files at once with desired suffix and incremental numbering by simply selecting all the files to be renamed and pressing F2 key on the keyboard, but it is nowhere near what we actually want to achieve here. If publishing this article means helping many others who are struggling to find the solution to the same problem, then why give up?įirst, I tried to find out if Windows Operating system natively supports this feature. However, doing so would totally kill the motive of writing this article. Linux is a very powerful Operating system, and one can achieve anything, given it falls right into its programming capabilities. First, I thought I would do it on my server itself using the command line, as my main VPS server provided by digitalocean runs latest Ubuntu distro. I have a separate droplet (VPS instance) for my image hosting website, which gives me the flexibility to provide better service to the users as it often gets too crowded at times. TL DR: I needed something to edit and add suffix to more than 9,000 files. So, I started calculating and concluded that to rename all those 9,000 images, it would require 40 hours of continuous editing.

rename multiple files at once

However, after going through the first few hundred images in 30 minutes it became clear to me that it is not going to be an easy task. I was certain that I could edit all of these files manually, one-by-one.

rename multiple files at once

This particular migration required me to add a ‘suffix’ to each and every image before uploading them to Amazon S3.

rename multiple files at once

To achieve this, I had to rename more than 9,000 files, which includes the full-size image, thumbnail and resized pictures. Recently, while working with my new Free image hosting website, I ran into some problems. Apparently, I decided to use Amazon S3 as my underlying storage solution to scale the platform in order to serve the anticipated surge in service demand. Ever tried to batch rename multiple files or folders on your computer? Well, editing just a few of them won’t necessarily flip your anger switch, but when there are hundreds or thousands of files to be renamed, it got to be a little inconvenient.













Rename multiple files at once